Flight Booking Tour Package
New Year Celebrated In India

What Are The Different Types Of New Year Celebrated In India?

As the current year gets ready to give way to a brand new year, there is joy, happiness, excitement, and festive spirit all around. If you are planning to fly abroad to celebrate this day, STOP! Think about your own beautiful country and the different ways New Year is celebrated. Why travel abroad when you have not yet explored your own country?

Different Types of New Year Celebrated In India

India is a vast and highly diverse country celebrating this momentous day differently. This is the perfect time to bid adieu to the old year and ring in the new one with positive energy and enthusiasm. If you wish to celebrate this day differently, know more about the divergent ways New Year is celebrated in India. Plan a trip to any of these destinations and enjoy festivities unique to these places. 

  • Gudi Padwa. Marathi New Year
  • Ugadi. Telugu New Year
  • Puthandu. Tamil New Year
  • Baisakhi. Punjabi New Year
  • Bohag Bihu. Assamese New Year
  • Bestu Varas. Gujarati New Year
  • Pohela Boishakh. Bengali New Year
  • Vishu. Malayalam New Year

Ugadi – Telugu New Year

Ugadi – Telugu New Year

Ugadi refers to the starting of age, celebrated in Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh comes in the month of March-April, the date may vary as per the Hindu Calendar. It is the beginning of Chaitra month as people wear new clothes on this day and visit relatives, and it’s the beginning of the Hindu lunisolar calendar. Sweets and pachidi (sweet syrup) are prepared with raw mangoes, and neem leaves are offered while having a Ugadi meal.

Click Here for Flight Ticket Bookings

Gudi Padwa- Marathi New Year

Gudi Padwa- Marathi New Year
Gudi Padwa- Marathi New Year

It generally takes place on the same day as Ugadi and is celebrated by hoisting the green and yellow flags. It is also known by the name Gudi. This day refers to the victory of the Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj over the enemies, along with the celebration of Shalivahan’s victory.

Baisakhi- Punjabi’s new year

Baisakhi- Punjabi’s new year
Baisakhi- Punjabi’s new year

It is also termed the Punjab harvest festival, generally on the 13th or 14th of April. The Sikhs celebrate it as it denotes the Khalsa establishment by Guru Gobind Singh. People celebrate this festival by dancing to traditional music.

Click Here for Hotel Bookings

Puthandu- Tamil New Year