Flight Booking Tour Package
Diwali festival Auspicious Days

Diwali Festival: The 5 Auspicious Days of Diwali and Everything You Need to Know About Them

Portraying the victory of good over evil, the festival of light, aka Diwali is the biggest Hindu festival of all. In its essence, Diwali is all about exploring the light within and vanquishing all the vrittis (flaws) from our human system which is inclusive of our mental, emotional and physical aspects.

Perhaps it is because of this mix of traditional, historical, and cultural significance that the festival of Diwali comes across as one of the star attractions of the lot. Celebrated over a period of five days at the end of Ashvin and start of Kartika month as per the Hindu calendar, and the months of October and November as per the Gregorian calendar, Diwali is a distillation of the Hindu Itihaas into the modern times.

A Glimpse Of Hindu Itihaas (History) Behind The Festival Of Diwali

Diwali commemorates Lord Rama's return to his kingdom of Ayodhya after a 14-year Vanvas (exile) after defeating the demonic King Ravana, who had abducted his wife, Goddess Sita, according to Hindu Itihaas. Although the majority of the world is familiar with this narrative, there are various Diwali happenings that many individuals are unaware of. The iconic Hindu Festival is also linked with Lord Krishna's defeat of Narakasura (the monarch of Pragjyotishpur) and the return of the Pandavas after a 12-year exile. 

Diwali Tour Packages by Adotrip

The Five Auspicious Days of Diwali

Diwali is widely praised in India, with these five auspicious days following one another in a row, each having its own set of values and ideals. 

1. Dhanteras

Dhanteras Shopping

This day marks the beginning of the Diwali festivities. It coincides with the 13th day of the lunar month's second half. People usually buy silver utensils, silver coins, gold, and automobiles for themselves and their families on this fortunate day. This day also commemorates the creation of Sri Dhanvantari God, who is an incarnation of Lord Vishnu and is regarded as the physician of the gods.

Also Read. Hear These Legendary Stories Which Explains The Origin Of Dhanteras

2. Naraka-Chaturdasi (Chhoti Diwali)

An Idol of Goddess Lakshmi
Naraka-Chaturdasi (Chhoti Diwali)

The second day of Diwali is regarded as Naraka Chaturdashi, also known as Kali Chaudas or Chhoti Diwali. According to Hindu folklore, Lord Shri Krishna, Lord Vishnu's ninth incarnation, defeated the demon Narakasura on this day.

People usually wake up before sunrise and, according to custom, take a holy bath before dressing in clean or fresh attire and enjoy delectable breakfast with family and friends. The Narak Chaturdashi, also known as Choti Diwali, is held a day prior to the main Diwali holiday.

3. Lakshmi Puja

Ganesha Rangoli Diwali
Lakshmi Puja

The third day of Diwali is known as Lakshmi Puja and is regarded as one of the five most important days of the Diwali Festival. This day honours the Hindu Goddess Lakshmi, who guards wealth, fortune, and prosperity and is also deemed the personification of beauty.

Goddess Lakshmi, Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati, and Mahakali are adored alongside Lord Ganesha, the deity of fortunate beginnings, on the auspicious festival of Diwali.

Click To Book Diwali Tour Packages by Adotrip

4. Govardhan Puja

Govardhan Puja

Diwali's fourth day is known as Govardhan Puja and Bali Pratipada. This day is remembered in Hindu mythology as the day Lord Krishna conquered Lord Indra by raising the entire Govardhan mountain while shielding the peasants from the rain of God's wrath. Later, Lord Krishna encouraged folks to worship nature rather than heaven's gods.

Govardhan Puja is honoured with tremendous zeal in the states of Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, and Uttar Pradesh.

5. Bhai-Dooj

Bhai Dooj Celebration

Bhai Dooj, the last day of this golden festival of lights, is the day when sisters pray for the long and happy lives of their brothers. In some parts of the country, this celebration is also known as the Yama Dwitiya, Bhai Tika, or Bhai Dij.

Since India has always been a country where people have strived for liberty and has been abounding with cultural, historical tales since ancient times, it is not incorrect to argue that a celebration like Diwali embodies the grandeur of this region.  

So, until our next intriguing piece of material, keep checking Adotrip website. You can always rely on your circuit planner to plan your online itinerary and explore everything wonderful and fascinating about India.

Frequently Asked Questions Related To Auspicious Days of Diwali

Q1. What are the 5 days of Diwali celebration?

A1. Diwali is heartily celebrated in India for a period of 5 days with majestic rituals.

  1. Dhanteras
  2. Naraka Chaturdasi (Chhoti Diwali)
  3. Lakshmi Pooja (Diwali)
  4. Govardhan Pooja
  5. Bhai Dooj

Q2. Which is the most important day of Diwali?

A2. Lakshmi Pooja is regarded as the most important day of Diwali out of all five days.

Q3. What is the significance of Govardhan Pooja?

A3. Givardhan Pooja is celebrated to honour the victory of Lord Krishna over Lord Indra. Madhya Pradesh, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh widely commemorates this auspicious day.

--- Published By  Nancy Verma

Flight Booking Tour Package

Subscribe Our Newsletter To Get Exclusive Discounts & Offers In Your Inbox

Download Adotrip App Or Simply Subscribe To Get Exclusive Offers On Flights, Hotels, Buses And More


May I Help you