07 October 2021 - 15 October 2021


Katra, Jammu And Kashmir

23°C / Clear

A Hindu festival, spanning nine nights is celebrated every year with much zeal and great fervour. The main crux of this festival is to celebrate the victory of good over evil which is something that goes in sync with our Hindu mythology. The word Navratri in itself means “Nine Nights” and typically honours Maa Durga. During this whole period of nine days, devotees celebrate Goddess Durga in her all nine divine forms. 

Moreover, it is interesting to know that we celebrate Navratri for a number of reasons out of which one of the major reason is the seasonal change. During this time, nature itself goes through subtle changes that are mainly the beginning of summer and winter seasons for both, Chaitra as well as Sharad Navratri.

Celebrated on a PAN India basis, in eastern and north-eastern states of India, Durga puja is considered synonymous with Navratri as Maa Durga is known for restoring faith and dharma.

In northern India, during this period, Ram Leela is enacted for a period of 10 days. Celebrations include stage recitals, decorations, etc. Each day in Navratri is dedicated to a specific Goddess. Day 1 is dedicated to Shailaputri and similarly, the second day is dedicated to Brahmacharini, the third one to Chandraghanta, 4th one to Maa Kushmanda, 5th one to Maa Skandamata and likewise it goes till Maa Katyayani, Maa Kalaratri, Maa Mahagauri, Maa Siddhidatri respectively.

History of Navratri

Navratri is one of the most popular festivals in India and has a vast history attached to it. Have a look at the details. 

Mahishasura Vadh

As the legend goes, there was a time when all the three worlds were inflicted by the terror of a demon named Mahishasura. And because of the kind of boons he had, he could not be killed by any humans, demons and even gods, except the feminine energy. However, being all-powerful, Mahishasura considered himself unbeatable and didn't look upon a female as someone who could possibly vanquish him.

Amid all this chaos, saving the world was necessary and it was Goddess Durga who took a furious form to wage a war against the demon. It is said that the battle went on for a total of 9 days and ended on the tenth day when Goddess Durga beheaded Mahishasura and spread peace upon Earth again. In 2020, Navratri will take place in the month of October. 

Ram Navami

The day of Ram Navami celebrates the birth of Lord Rama. Considered as the seventh Avatar of Lord Vishnu, the birth of Lord Rama signifies the end of evil by good. It is said that Lord Vishnu had to take a human form to end the atrocities of the demon King Raavana. And to do this, he took birth as King Dashratha's and Queen Kausalya's son in the city of Ayodhya, Uttar Pradesh. On this day, Ram Kathas happen in most of the temples. The special cities and places in Uttar Pradesh, Rameswaram (Tamil Nadu), and Sitamarhi (Bihar) witness major celebrations. The whole atmosphere becomes quite lively owing to the bhajans, kirtans and blissful devotion flowing in the air. There are some Vaishnava communities which celebrate the Chaitra Navratri remembering Lord Rama. 

Some More Historical Nuances of Navratri Celebrations

1. Sikhism. It is somewhat interesting to know that the Goddess also finds mention in the historic Sikhism Literature. Specifically in the Dasam Granth which has been dedicated to Guru Gobind Singh Ji. Many historians and people coming from highly intellectual backgrounds have come to this conclusion that in Sikhism a great reverence has been laid on Devi Shakthi. One example which illustrates this is the fact that Guru Angad was highly devoted to Maa Durga. 

2. Outside India. In the colonial times, the people who were forced to travel to other lands as labours and people who themselves travelled to faraway lands still maintain the ritualistic tradition to give reverence to their Goddesses. And it is owing to this very fact that one can find the presence of Hindu temples in various countries like Singapore, Thailand, and Malaysia. 

Major Attractions Of Navratri Festival

1. Vaishno Devi. The festival of Navratri is celebrated with great enthusiasm all over India. But the way celebrations are at their peak at Vaishno Devi is really incredible. Although one can visit Vaishno Devi at any other time as well, the yatra during the auspicious time of Navratri offers you an experience which is at the best of its spiritual bliss. 

  • During the first three days of the festival, Goddess Durga is invoked for destroying all the impurities, sins and vices from the people who reach out to Goddess Vaishno Devi for seeking her divine blessings. 
  • The next three days, the Goddess Lakshmi is spiritually revered as a giver of wealth. It is believed that she has the power to bestow unending amounts of wealth to her devotees.  
  • And after that, the next three days are spent offering prayers to Goddess Saraswati, the giver of divine wisdom and knowledge. 

2. Bawe Wali Mata Temple. During the nine days of Navratri, the Bawe Wali Mata Temple sees a very heavy rush of devotees. It feels as if every resident of Jammu visits this temple for the darshan of the Goddess. The rush of devotees can be seen from as early as 3:00 am in the morning and continues till late hours as the divine bliss flows in the air. During this time, the entire temple is decorated with flowers and lights for nine days of divine celebrations which are dedicated to the nine different forms of Goddess Durga.

How to Reach 

Jammu and Kashmir is prominently known as the paradise on Earth. This place is full of fascinating landscapes and oozing beauty of nature. Jammu is located at a distance of around  589 km, 2,768 km, 1,957 km, 2,114 km from Delhi, Bangalore, Mumbai, Kolkata respectively.

By Air. If you are planning to visit Jammu via flight then you must know that Jammu Airport is one of the best options to reach here. It is situated at an approximate distance of 8-10 km from the city centre. Although it is a good option to reach here, it is important to know that this airport mainly handles domestic flights.

The airport’s main infrastructural facility is inclusive of a total five main gates along with a total of fourteen check-in desks. Various airlines like Spicejet, Go Air, IndiGo and Air India operate to and fro at a fairly good frequency here. You can consider flying here from destinations like Delhi, Chandigarh, Shimla and many others. After deboarding at the airport, you will need to take a cab or some other public transportation to reach your desired destination.

By Road. Depending upon favourable weather conditions you can also consider travelling to Jammu via road. Yes, as witnessing the natural landscapes of this place via travelling here is simply an amazing experience to cherish for lifelong.

If you are travelling from Delhi, then, you would need to cover 500-600 km via NH44, from Jaipur you will need to cover 853 km via NH 44 or NH 48. From Bikaner, you will need to cover 726 km via NH 54. From Agra, you will need to cover 820 km via NH 44. From Shimla, you will need to travel 412 km via NH44 or Bela-Behrampur road.

By Train. If you are planning on reaching to Jammu via train then your best bet would be reaching out to Jammu Tawi Railway Station. This train station is located at a rough distance of 7-10 km from the city centre. Jammu Tawi is also considered as the largest train station locally.

From Delhi, you will need to board the Jammu Rajdhani train via New Delhi railway station. From Ludhiana, you will need to take CNB JAT Express via Ludhiana Junction. From Amritsar, you will need to board BTT JAT Express via Amritsar Junction. 

You can plan your trip and create your own route to the city with Adotrip’s technically driven circuit planner. Click here

+ Add Destination

Flight Booking


      Popular Packages

      Nearby Stays