Ajay Kashyap
2023-10-10 12:30:57

How many days Durga Puja celebrated in West Bengal?

2023-10-18 12:21:02

Durga Puja in West Bengal is typically celebrated over a span of four days, although the festivities may start a few days before and continue a day or two after the main event. The four primary days of Durga Puja are:

Maha Shashti: This is the first day when the idol of Goddess Durga is unveiled and the festivities officially begin.

Maha Saptami: On the second day, prayers and rituals continue, and some communities perform traditional dances and cultural programs.

Maha Ashtami: The third day is dedicated to worship and rituals, with special emphasis on the worship of the goddess.

Maha Navami: On the fourth day, special ceremonies and a grand send-off for the goddess take place.

In addition to these four days, there is a lead-up to Durga Puja with the construction and decoration of pandals (temporary structures to house the idols), cultural performances, and other events. After the main event, there is a day called Vijaya Dashami, which is the day of farewell to the goddess. This day often involves the immersion of the Durga idol in a river or other bodies of water. Overall, the entire celebration can extend for several days, with the most significant events occurring during the four primary days mentioned above.

2023-10-18 12:12:59

Durga Puja in West Bengal typically spans four days, but the entire festival, including preparations and immersion, can extend over a week. Here's a breakdown of the four main days of Durga Puja:

1. Mahalaya: This day marks the beginning of Durga Puja. It is believed to be the day when Goddess Durga descends to Earth. On Mahalaya, people traditionally listen to the recitation of "Mahishasura Mardini," a scriptural composition that narrates the goddess's battle against the demon Mahishasura.

2. Sasthi: Sasthi is the sixth day of the lunar calendar, which is when the formal festivities begin. On this day, the idol of Goddess Durga is unveiled, and the rituals of "Bodhon" (invocation of the goddess) and "Amantran" (invitation of the goddess) take place.

3. Saptami: Saptami is the seventh day, and it marks the day when the real puja (worship) of Goddess Durga begins. It includes various rituals, offerings, and cultural performances. People visit pandals (temporary structures) to admire the artistic decorations and idols.

4. Ashtami and Navami: Ashtami is the eighth day, and Navami is the ninth day of Durga Puja. These are the most significant days of the festival. Elaborate pujas, offerings, and cultural events take place during this time. On Ashtami, the "Kumari Puja" is performed, where a young, pre-pubescent girl symbolizing the goddess is worshipped. On Navami, a "Sandhi Puja" is observed at the juncture of the eighth and ninth days. It is believed to be the moment when the goddess slays the buffalo demon Mahishasura.

The four main days of Durga Puja, from Sasthi to Navami, are the core days of celebration and worship. The festival concludes on the tenth day, known as Dashami or Vijaya Dashami, with the immersion (Visarjan) of the idols in rivers or water bodies. This marks the farewell to Goddess Durga as she returns to her celestial abode. In West Bengal, Dashami is also associated with the tradition of bidding an emotional farewell to the goddess and seeking her blessings for the next year.

While these four main days are the heart of the celebration, many people begin preparations well in advance and continue to participate in cultural events, food, and festivities throughout the entire week of Durga Puja.


Subscribe Our Newsletter To Get Exclusive Discounts & Offers In Your Inbox

Download Adotrip App Or Simply Subscribe To Get Exclusive Offers On Flights, Hotels, Buses And More


May I Help you